Posts tagged sick leave

On July 11, 2016, the San Diego City Council approved the June 7, 2016, election results to reinstate previously approved paid sick leave and minimum wage increases (the “Ordinance”).  Accordingly, effective July 11, 2016, the San Diego minimum wage increased to $10.50 per hour.

The San Diego minimum wage is set to increase again on January 1, 2017 to $11.50 per hour. In January 1, 2019 and each following ...

The City of Los Angeles updated its website on the minimum wage and sick leave laws on June 27, 2016.

In January, the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (the “DLSE”) issued a second set of "Frequently Asked Questions" regarding the Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014, California’s new paid sick leave law (AB 1522).  The DLSE issued the following clarifications:

Labor Code Section 233, sometimes referred to as the "kin care" statute requires employers that provide paid leave to an employee who is ill to permit an employee to use a portion of the employee's accrued and available paid sick leave to care for an ill parent, spouse, child, domestic partner, or child of a domestic partner. The amount of paid leave that can be used for that purpose is limited to the amount of paid leave that would be accrued during six months at the rate of accrual at the time the leave is taken.

Other AALRR Blogs

Recent Posts

Popular Categories

Contributors

Archives

Back to Page

By scrolling this page, clicking a link or continuing to browse our website, you consent to our use of cookies as described in our Cookie and Privacy Policy. If you do not wish to accept cookies from our website, or would like to stop cookies being stored on your device in the future, you can find out more and adjust your preferences here.